Text Size Translate

The City of Arkansas City strives to provide a high quality of life for its citizens by furnishing a variety of efficient services in a professional, courteous manner.

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify

Convention and Visitors Bureau Board of Directors

The Arkansas City Convention and Visitors Bureau is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors that meets at noon on the second Thursday of each month.

Meetings are held at the CVB office at 106 S. Summit St. or the Chaplin Nature Center visitors center, located at 27814 27th Drive.

Three members of the Board of Directors represent the hotel and motel industry or area tourist attractions, while three more are citizens appointed at large.

All six members are appointed by the mayor with the consent of the City Commission. The seventh voting member is one of the five city commissioners, reappointed annually.

The current membership of the CVB Board of Directors is:

  • Chairman — Arty Hicks (at large; serves until Jan. 1, 2020)
  • Vice Chair Liz Shepard (at large; serves until Jan. 1, 2021)
  • Secretary Shawn Silliman (Chaplin Nature Center, representing tourism; serves until Jan. 1, 2020)
  • Treasurer Carlla Pike (at large; serves until Jan. 1, 2019)
  • Member Dena Ward (representing tourism; serves until Jan. 1, 2019)
  • Member Sara Williams (Best Western Plus Patterson Park Inn, representing hotels; serves until Jan. 1, 2021)
  • Commissioner Mayor Dan Jurkovich (serves until Jan. 8, 2019)